Arvon Presbyterian Church
Sketch by Margaret Pennington. Courtesy Historic Buckingham.
Arvonia, and its inhabitants, is one of the favorite topics at Slate River Ramblings. In 1959, Mrs. R. J. Wojnicki wrote a lengthy article for Charlottesville’s Daily Progress about the founding of Arvon Presbyterian Church entitled, “Welch Quarrymen Organized Church In Buckingham.” She began by describing the church’s setting, its architecture, and appointments.
In a setting of stately oaks this church, with its old world atmosphere, has been tended to with loving care throughout the years and stands as an enduring memorial to the Welsh pioneers.
The double-doored entrance to the church is reached by a terrace of slate. The doors open into an eight-foot vestibule extending the full width of the building which measures about 40 by 50 feet.
At the front, on a two-step dais, is the original pulpit of mellowed pine, together with five 17th-century fruitwood chairs which came from a castle in Austria. These chairs are upholstered in deep blue plush. At the right of the pulpit is the organ and choir chairs arranged at an angle in back of a curved railing. An arched pattern of wood frames the background of the rostrum.
At the rear of the church, running its full width, is a balcony. The balcony, with its original rail, is matched by the chair rail. High walls are of a light, soft green, with carpeting in a deeper shade of green. There are 11 windows in the church and from the ceiling hang two chandeliers.
Coming next: Founding Arvon Presbyterian Church
Click here to read about early weddings at Avon Presbyterian Church: Four Weddings in Arvonia.